Teen DUI: Why You Need A Houston Lawyer Immediately

There are laws, rules, and consequences in place when it comes to teenage drunk driving. In the state of Texas, getting caught while driving under the influence of alcohol, being underage, can get you some serious jail time and other penalties. 

If you get charged with a teen DUI, you must have it fixed. Here is why you need a Houston lawyer immediately when you get caught with a teen DUI.

Strict laws

Like most places, Texas’ laws on teen DUI state that anyone under the age of 21 is considered underage for drunk driving. If you get caught, the officer will ask you to submit blood alcohol content or a breath test, otherwise known as BAC. 

Unlike most places though, where BAC levels exceeding .02% goes against the law, in Texas, exceeding BAC levels of just 0.08% can get you charged. 

Drivers under the age of 21 who have BAC levels of about 0.00% can already be issued a ticket. One drink can cause your BAC levels to go up to 0.02% so there is little room for leeway.

If you get charged with a teen DUI in Houston, it is advised you seek the services of a car accident lawyer in Houston. 

Sutliff & Stout Injury & Accident Law Firm have Houston-based lawyers who are Board Certified and ready to assist you on your case. 

Looking at the severity of the charges and how it can derail a teenager’s career, you must hire an experienced car accident attorney without delay. In fact, the severity of the case does not matter when a teenager’s career is at stake.

Hefty Fines 

Getting charged with an underage DUI is not cheap. You will also have to pay a lot of fines and fees related to your charge. In Texas, the first offense for teen DUI will have you pay a fine of as much as $500. A second offense will cost you another fine of up to $500. 

On a third teen DUI offense, you will have to pay a fine between $500 and $2000. Aside from these fines, expenses related to the repairs to your car and towing services will have to be paid by you as well.

Effects your record for years to come 

Even after you have paid all your fines and served your community service hours, this does not mean the end of your underage DUI troubles. Having a teen DUI on your record will affect you for years to come and can significantly impact your education and career opportunities. Your school may give you disciplinary action for getting charged and may even expel you. 

When you apply for colleges, your DUI record will make you look undesirable and make it hard for you to get into colleges. By the time you apply for a job, your employer may do a background check and see that you have a teen DUI which may turn them off from hiring you.

Multiple suspensions and penalties 

Your lawyer is there to help you get a good and favorable conviction because if not, you can receive multiple suspensions and penalties. Depending on your offense, you can receive as much as 60 hours of community service work related to alcohol misuse education and prevention. 

Your driver’s license will also be suspended for a minimum of 30 days to 180 days at the maximum. You can even be ordered to serve jail time of up to 180 days.

Views: 38

Comment

You need to be a member of Producers Workshop Online to add comments!

Join Producers Workshop Online

© 2021   Created by Judith Vecchione.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

\uascript type="text/javascript">\ud\ud var _gaq = _gaq || [];\ud _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-237277-17']);\ud _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']);\ud\ud (function() {\ud var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;\ud ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js';\ud var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);\ud })();\ud\ud